Laura and Jason Kenny awarded CBEs in New Year's Honours list

Brian Robinson, Ed Clancy, and Owain Doull also among those awarded gongs

Jason Kenny and Laura Trott, Rio 2016 Olympic Games (Watson)

(Image credit: Watson)

Laura and Jason Kenny have both been awarded CBEs, topping the bill of 18 Olympic and Paralympic riders given titles in the New Year's Honours list.

Both riders already have OBEs, but have been given higher honours after a stellar Olympic games in Rio de Janeiro, with Laura Kenny becoming the most successful British female Olympian of all time with her fourth gold medal, while Jason Kenny is now level with Chris Hoy on six gold medals, the most by any British Olympian.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.