Laura Trott on course for omnium win at London Track World Cup

Olympic champion leads by 14 points with one race to go; Jess Varnish through in keirin.

Laura Trott remains on course for victory in the omnium at the London Track World Cup meeting after a solid session in the Lee Valley Velodrome today.

Trott began the day leading the competition by two points over Kirsten Wild (Netherlands), and maintained her position after placing third in the early morning 500m time trial, less than half a second behind winner Jolien d'Hoore.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.