The Premier Calendar competition draws to a close at the Richmond Grand Prix on Sunday (August 1).

With his third title already sewn up after placing fourth at the East Yorkshire Classic a fortnight ago, Chris Newton is looking forward to having the pressure removed this weekend.

“It was nice to seal it there rather than the last race,” he told Cycling Weekly.

The 36-year-old has been the outstanding rider on the British road racing scene this year, winning three of the seven Premier Calendar races: the Tour DoonHame, Lincoln GP and Beaumont Trophy.

“Going for the wins, that’s what kept me motivated really, and everything else fell into place,” Newton added.

“The overall dictates the race somewhat. But here, it’ll be nice as there’s no Premier Calendar to go for. Whether people will try to sort out second and third, I don’t know, but at least we’ll race for the win.”

Throw in Dean Downing’s victory in Dumfries and Rapha-Condor-Sharp have controlled the season-long series.

Therefore, this tough Dales race is the last chance for several domestic stars to take a Premier Calendar win this year.

Ian Wilkinson, Jack Bauer (Endura Racing), Marcin Bialoblocki ( and Ian Bibby (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) will be among those looking to finish their campaigns off with a victory.

The Yorkshire race, which includes the climbs of Butter Tubs, Scarth Nick and Waithwith Bank, also provides a chance for any riders looking to clinch a Tour of Britain berth, to deliver a clear message about their form with a good result.

A new winner is assured, with defending champion Alex Dowsett racing in the US with his Trek-Livestrong team.


Sunday August 1

Round eight of the 2010 Premier Calendar series

Start 11.30am, Richmond Market Place

Distance 135km (83 miles)


1 Alex Dowsett (100 Per Cent ME) 3-18-35

2 Jonathan Tiernan-Locke (Sport Beans-Wilier) at 2-43

3 Owain Lovell (Ashfield RC) at 2-59


1. Chris Newton (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) 477pts

2. Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized) 343pts

3. Jack Bauer (Endura Racing) 301pts

4. Evan Oliphant (Endura Racing) 266pts

5. Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) 259pts

6. Marcin Bialoblocki ( 229pts

7. Jonathan McEvoy (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) 223pts

8. Peter Williams (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) 205pts

9. John Tanner (Sportscover) 190pts

10. Rob Partridge (Endura Racing) 184pts

Related links

Dowsett takes Richmond win

Clarke charges to East Yorkshire Classic; Newton secures Premier Calendar

British Race Calendar 2010: Road, Crits and TTs