Stybar and Van Den Brand win cyclo-cross World Cup

cyclo-cross news logo

Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea) and Daphny van den Brand (the Netherlands) were respectively crowned men's and women's 2009/10 UCI cyclo-cross World Cup winners after the series' final round in Hoogerheide, Netherlands, on Sunday.

The 2009/10 series was concluded on the same Hoogerheide course used for last year's cyclo-cross World Championships, and it was the reigning world champions who won the final round - Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit).

British cyclo-cross national champion Helen Wyman finished outside the topten in the women's race, placing 13th, one minute and 58 seconds behind Vos. Wyman finished the series in 11th overall in the nine-race series.

Wyman's compatriots Nikki Harris and Annie Last finished 15th and 16th in the final round, with Gabby Day in 22nd spot. Day finished the series in 17th overall, with Harris in 22nd.

In the men's event, Jody Crawforth was GB's top finisher in 45th, with series regular Ian Field in 48th and Paul Oldham in 49th. Field finished the series in 42nd place overall.

All of the riders are now looking ahead to the 2010 UCI cyclo-cross World Championships next weekend in Tabor, Czech Republic (January 30-31).

Related links

Brit women's mixed fortunes in World Cup snow

Wyman wins in Switzerland

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1