Tao Geoghegan Hart one of 31 riders receiving Rayner funding in 2015

Dave Rayner Fund announces list of 31 up-and-coming cyclists that will receive funding during 2015 season

Tao Geoghegan Hart, Tour of Britain 2014 team presentation

Tao Geoghegan Hart is one of 31 riders who is to be awarded grants by the Dave Rayner Fund for 2015.

The Fund that enables under-23 cyclists to live, train and compete away from the UK racing scene today announced the list of riders who they will support over the impending season and there are 26 male recipients of funding and five female.

The stand-out name is Geoghegan Hart who came 15th in the Friends Life Tour of Britain last year and tenth in the Tour de l’Avenir. It is the second successive year that the Hackney-born rider, this year riding for Axel Merckx’s Axeon Cycling Team in the USA, will receive funding.

Six other of this year’s riders were also funded last year: Joe Kirkham, Andy Leigh, Adam Lewis, Eoin McCarthy, Alistair Slater and Dan Whelan.

>>>Dave Rayner Fund celebrates 20 years at annual charity dinner

The Fund will be hoping for an omen with James Shaw heading to Belgium to ride for Lotto-Soudal U23 (previously Lotto-Belisol U23), the same team that previously-funded rider Dan McLay rode for before he was signed by pro-continental outfit Bretagne-Seche in the off-season.

Belgian team Matrix ProCycling has signed Molly Weaver, Jessie Walker, Penny Rowson, Harriet Owen and Melissa Lowther and all will receive funding.

The 31 riders receiving funding from the Dave Rayner Fund in 2015 are:

Scott Auld

Tom Bracegirdle

Christopher Dredge

Callum Ferguson

Dan Gardner

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Duncan Heywood

Owen James

Taylor Johnstone

Joe Kirkham

Andy Leigh

Adam Lewis

Melissa Lowther

Leon Mazzone

Eoin McCarthy

Matthew Novell

Harriet Owen

Ricky Parsons

Dan Pearson

Penny Rowson

Jack Sadler

Jacob Scott

James Shaw

Alistair Slater

Daniel Stewart

Matthew Teggart

Julian Varley

Jessie Walker

Molly Weaver

Dan Whelan

Jake Womersley

More details of the organisation can be found on the Dave Rayner Fund website.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1