Wiggins and Pooley take British TT Champs titles

British Time Trial Championships 2009 photo gallery, by Andy Jones>>


Bradley Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) has earned the right to wear the British national champion’s jersey – in events against the clock – by winning the British Time Trial Championship in Buckinghamshire on Sunday.

Wiggins clocked 1-02-15 over the 31.2 miles to beat Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit RT), who completed the course in 1-04-34. Chris Newton (Rapha-Condor) came third with 1-06-14.

Despite posting what would have been a podium-worthy time, Matt Bottrill (Team I Ride) was disqualified for drafting Wiggins when the Garmin rider caught and passed him.

Beijing Olympics TT silver medallist Emma Pooley (Cervelo) won the women’s event with a time of 46-11. Wendy Houvenaghel (Science in Sport) was second with 46-41, and Julia Shaw (Utag-Yamaha) third with 47-13.

Alex Dowsett (100% ME) took the Under-23 men’s title ahead of Andy Tennant (Halfords-Bikehut).

British time trial championships 2009: Men
1. Bradley Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) in 1-02-15

2. Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit RT) 1-04-34
3. Chris Newton (Rapha-Condor) 1-06-14
4. Rob Hayles (Halfords-Bikehut) 1-06-23
5. Wouter Sybrandy (Team Sigma Sport) 1-06-33
6. Charles McCulloch (Shorter Rochford RT) 1-07-31
Jerone Walters (Team Sigma Sport) 1-08-07
8. John Tuckett (AW Cycles/Giant) 1-08-25
9. Steve Lampier (KUK-Kinesis) 1-08-37
10. Mark Holton
(Shorter Rochford RT) 1-08-41

1. Emma Pooley (Cervelo Test Team) in 46-11

2. Wendy Houvenaghel (Science in Sport) 46-41
3. Julia Shaw (Utag Yamaha) 47-15
4. Sarah Storey (VC St Raphael) 47-43
5. Chrissy Radon (Wycombe CC) 49-46
6. Ruth Eyles (Beacon Roads CC) 49-57
7. Charlotte Blackman (Cyclefit RT) 51-14
Avril Swan (Team Endura/MI Racing) 51-41
Lesley Walkling (a3rg/PB Science/SIS) 51-43
Claire Newland (Welwyn Wheelers) 51-46

Under-23 men
1. Alex Dowsett (100% ME) 42-37

2. Andy Tennant (Halfords Bikehut) 43-16
Andrew Griffiths (New Heebra Lombarden) 43-36


Joe Perrett (Glendene CC-Biketrax) 21-38

Conor Dunne (Hemel Hempstead CC) 22-07

Jamie Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC) 22-01

Michael Hutchinson, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Michael Hutchinson took silver in the men’s event

Bradley Wiggins, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Bradley Wiggins on his way to winning the men’s title

Emma Pooley, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Emma Pooley scooped the women’s championship

Joe Perrett, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Junior winner Joe Perrett

Alex Dowsett, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Under-23 champion Alex Dowsett

Jeff Jones, British Time Trial Championships 2009

Masters victor Jeff Jones

Related links

British Time Trial Championships 2009 photo gallery, by Andy Jones

British time trial championships: The big preview