Nordhaug renews with Sky

Norwegian Lars-Petter Nordhaug has signed a new one-year contract with the British-based Sky team for 2012.

“I am very happy at Team Sky and am pleased to have signed this new deal,” said Nordhaug in a team statement.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

“Over the last season I have been given the chance to ride a lot of higher-profile races like the Ardennes Classics and the Giro, and I’ve learnt a lot as a result. I feel a much stronger rider now than I did 12 months ago and hopefully I will be able to keep getting better next season.

Nordhaug will continue his role as a domestique in 2012 as the squad hopes to build on a solid 2011 season that saw them finish the UCI WorldTour as second-ranked team behind Omega Pharma-Lotto.

“I’m going to continue working hard for the team whilst at the same time trying to make the most of any other chances that come my way. I’ve had some good results this season but it would be nice to get a win for the team,” said Nordhaug.

“I’m delighted that Kurt-Asle Arvesen is staying on in a senior capacity as well because he has been a mentor to me throughout my career and I’ll continue to work closely with him in 2012.”

Nordhaug has been with Sky since the squad launched at the beginning of the 2010 season. this year he achieved top ten finishes in the Criterium International, Vuelta a Murcia and Coppa Sabatini. He rode in the Giro d’Italia in May and took an active role in an escape group on stage 11.

Sky’s line-up for the 2012 season is nearing completion, having announced several major new signings in teh past two months including Mark Cavendish, Bernhard Eisel, Danny Pate and Kanstanstin Siutsou from HTC-Highroad; and Richie Porte from Saxo Bank.

Team Sky 2012 line-up (to be confirmed)
Davide Appollonio (Ita)
Michael Barry (Can)
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)
Mark Cavendish (GBr) – from HTC Highroad
Alex Dowsett (GBr)
Bernhard Eisel (Aut) – from HTC Highroad
Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa)
Chris Froome (GBr)
Mathew Hayman (Aus)
Sergio Henao (Col) – from Gobernacion de Antioquia
Jeremy Hunt (GBr)
Peter Kennaugh (GBr)
Christian Knees (Ger)
Thomas Lofkvist (Swe)
Lars-Petter Nordhaug (Nor)
Danny Pate (USA) – from HTC Highroad
Richie Porte (Aus) – from Saxo Bank-SunGard
Salvatore Puccio (Ita) – from Menfi-AG
Michael Rogers (Aus)
Luke Rowe (GBr) – from GB Academy
Kanstanstin Siutsou (Blr) – from HTC Highroad
Ian Stannard (GBr)
Chris Sutton (Aus)
Ben Swift (GBr)
Geraint Thomas (GBr)
Rigoberto Uran (Col)
Bradley Wiggins (GBr)
Xabier Zandio (Spa) 

Related links

Team Sky’s 2012 line-up