Fernando Gaviria kicks off Tour of Guangxi with bunch sprint win

Colombian sprinter Fernando Gaviria claims opening stage and race lead in the inaugural edition of the Tour of Guangxi in China

Fernando Gaviria celebrates after winning stage five of the 2017 Giro d'Italia

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Blink and you'll miss him ... @FndoGaviria sprints to Stage 1 success at @TourofGuangxi and @quickstepteam celebrate 🇨🇳🍾🍾🍾 #TourofGuangxi pic.twitter.com/HX2obUidQA

— Velon CC (@VelonCC) October 19, 2017

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.