Miguel Angel Lopez springs late move to win Milano-Torino

Colombian Miguel Angel Lopez sprung a late attack to claim a solo victory in Milano-Torino

Miguel Angel Lopez wins the 2016 Milano-Torino
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) continued his successful season with a solo victory in the 2016 edition of Milano-Torino in Italy on Wednesday.

The 22-year-old Colombian had attacked part-way up the final ascent of Superga, surprising a host of riders with his acceleration. Lopez won the Tour de Suisse earlier his season, along with stages of the Tour de San Luis and Tour de Langkawi.

Canadian Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) had been active on the ascent with Lopez, but ultimately could not match the Astana rider and came home for second place.

Michael Woods and Miguel Angel Lopez in the 2016 Milano-Torino

Michael Woods and Miguel Angel Lopez battle it out on the Superga climb.
(Image credit: Watson)

Rigoberto Uran gave Cannondale-Drapac its second spot on the podium, and a second Colombian rider.

Speaking after the finish, Lopez said: "Thanks to the team I achieved this magnificent victory here today despite the loss of Michele Scarponi who crashed – I dedicate this achievement to him.

>>> Six riders to watch at the Giro di Lombardia

"Diego Rosa, who was also involved in the crash, did a tremendous job for me as well as Dario Cataldo in bringing back the breakaway. We always speak during the race, that enabled us to change tactics on the way... it was smart to try to go away before the final ascent. I didn't expect to win today. It's beautiful."

Milano-Torino 2016 profile

Milano-Torino 2016 profile

Established climbing stars Daniel Moreno (Movistar), Fabio Aru (Astana), Romain Bardet (Ag2r) and Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin) all featured in the top 10 of the 186-kilometre, UCI 1.HC-ranked race.

Earlier in the race, Manxman Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky) had been in the day's three-man break and put in a big effort on the Superga, but was swept up by the lead group inside the final 10km.

Peter Kennaugh was the last rider from the day's break to be caught in Milano-Torino

Peter Kennaugh was the last rider from the day's break to be caught in Milano-Torino
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Many of the riders taking part in Milano-Torino will now take part in the final WorldTour event of the 2016 season, Il Lombardia on Saturday.

Miguel Angel Lopez wins the 2016 Milano-Torino

Miguel Angel Lopez wins the 2016 Milano-Torino
(Image credit: Watson)

Milano-Torino 2016 result

1. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana in 4-13-36

2. Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac at 9 secs

3. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac at 14 secs

4. Daniel Moreno (Esp) Movistar at 19 secs

5. Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida at 21 secs

6. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana at 23 secs

7. Pello Bilbao (Esp) Caja Rural at 27 secs

8. Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 32 secs

9. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 36 secs

10. Warren Barguil (Fra) Giant-Alpecin at 40 secs

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.