Pettinger looking strong for hill-climb nationals

Time Trial news logo

Oxford hill-climbing ace Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) threw down the gauntlet to his rivals for the National Championship at the end of next month when he proved a convincing winner of the Warwickshire Road Club two-stage on Sunday.

The 34-year-old won overall by almost 20 seconds after proving fastest on both the Saintbury Hill and Dovers Hill climbs.

The 2010 national title race was run off on Dovers Hill, and Pettinger finished a disappointing fourth, while Dan Fleeman took the title and Matt Clinton was second.

But Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles) had to settle for second spot on Sunday, with Pettinger beating him by more than seven seconds on Dovers, while he was almost 12 seconds better on Saintbury.

Another former national title holder, James Dobbin (Adeo Cadence RT) was third, another 32 seconds behind overall.

The previous day, Clinton had won the Coventry Road Club 10 as he warmed up, clocking 20-23 to win by ten seconds from Simon Harradine (Leisure Lakes) on the K10/10 course at Princethorpe.

Elsewhere, talented junior rider Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles RT) won the Sunderland Clarion hill-climb at Lady Park, near Gateshead, with a course record time on Sunday.

The youngster from Pelton, near Durham, clocked 3-47 for the climb to slice five seconds off the previous mark and take the win on the day by nine seconds from Herbalife-Wheelbase rider Ian Taylor.

Dan Evans (Rhos on Sea CC) was crowned Welsh National Hill-Climb Champion after a strong performance on the Rhigos climb on Sunday.

He covered the calm and dry course in 11-32 to win by 35 seconds from his nearest rival, Jonathan Shubert (Ystwyth CC), while Team Wiggle's Ben Simmons was third, another 20 seconds back.

The promoting club's Miles Flather won the Bridlington CC hill-climb at Flixton Brow in East Yorkshire. His time of 3-15.73 gave him victory by around 16 seconds from Huddersfield Star Wheelers' rival Andrew Pearson, while David Thompson (Scarborough Paragon) completed the podium, another three seconds off the pace.

There was a new course record in the Yorkshire Road Club 50-mile event on the V259 course at Dalton, with Scott Povey (I Ride RT) clocking an impressive 1-40-46.

The last counting event for the British Best All-Rounder, it gave many riders a great chance to top up their overall MPH in the season-long competition.

Team Pedal took second and fourth, with Andy Bason clocking 1-41-08 and Nik Bowdler 1-42-33.

They were separated by third-placed Joel Wainman (Team Swift) who clocked 1-42-31 and led Team Swift to the team prize alongside Mark Wolstenholme and Julian Read.

Best of the women was Clare Ella (Born2Bike) who covered the course in 2-04-39.

In other time trials, Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC) was fastest in the Epsom CC 25 at Broadbridge Heath in West Sussex, his time of 51-23 beating Richard Simmons (The Altitude Centre) by 20 seconds.

Rob Pears (Bath CC) won the Yeovil CC 10 at Podimore in Somerset with a time of 20-14, but the ride of the day went to scratch man Adam Topham.

The High Wycombe CC rider was riding with a broken gear level which meant he was riding a 56/11 gear for most of the event. Despite this, he was just five seconds back in second spot.

And in Lancashire, Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC) won the West Pennine Road Club autumn 10 on the L101 course at Garstang.

He clocked 20-11 to win by 33 seconds from Scott Burns (Manchester Wheelers).

Related links

Cycling Weekly's time trial news section

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1