Rudy Molard emerges victorious from aggressive stage six finale at Paris-Nice

Groupama-FDJ rider times his attack to perfection in exciting end to stage - Luis Leon Sanchez maintains overall lead

Rudy Molard celebrates as he crosses the line on stage six of Paris-Nice

(Image credit: Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ) was the slightly unexpected victor at the end of an aggressive final hour of racing on stage six of Paris-Nice.

The 28-year-old Frenchman took just the second victory of his professional career as he bided his time before launching two attacks in the final two kilometres, the second of which with 1,300m to go getting him enough of a gap to be able to sit up and straighten his jersey as he crossed the line.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.