Team BikeExchange

Australian | Team website

BikeExchange's new kit for 2022

Photo: Team BikeExchange (Image credit: Bike Exchange/Alé)

Australia's only top-level cycling team, Team BikeExchange-Jayco have steadily evolved since making their debut in 2012. The team comprises both men's and women's line-ups, both competing in the UCI's respective WorldTour calendars.

Initially, the men's squad found success in the Classics, team time trials and opportunist stage wins, but have more recently nurtured rising Grand Tour contenders and the next generation of sprinters. 

Colombian Esteban Chaves and British twin brothers Simon Yates and Adam Yates have made a big impression on Grand Tours in the past few seasons with Adam leaving to join Ineos Grenadiers in 2021.

Chaves established himself as a serious contender during the 2016 Giro d'Italia, where he placed second overall and wore the maglia rosa for a spell. This was backed up with a third place in the Vuelta a España the same year.

Since turning professional with the team in 2014 though, Simon Yates has had setbacks along with monumental highs. In 2016, he fell foul of the team omitting to submit a therapeutic use exemption certificate for an asthma drug, and he failed an anti-doping test at 2016 Paris-Nice.

However, those lows have been outweighed after Yates won the 2017 Tour de France young rider classification, before emerging victorious in GC at the 2018 Vuelta a España. He also has eight Grand Tour stage wins to his name too, making the BikeExchange rider highly successful in the team's colours. 

Despite these successes a number of years ago now, Team BikeExchange - who will welcome new title sponsors Jayco in 2022 - finished just eighteenth on the UCI WorldTour team ranking for last season. A lack of wins provides reason for the drop in standings, with Yates the only member of the team able to win a Grand Tour stage race, which helped him finish third in the GC.

However, strucural changes in 2020 meant the 2021 season was a season of adjusting and developing, with a host of new riders added to the roster to propel the team back towards the front of the peloton. Simon Yates and Michael Matthews will continue to lead in the new season, with seven new riders from seven different countries joining the team to try and find BikeExchange-Jayco some improved performances. 

Team BikeExchange-Jayco 2022 squad

Alex Balmer (SWI)
Jack Bauer (NZL)
Sam Bewley (NZL)
Lawson Craddock (USA)
Kevin Colleoni (ITA)
Luke Durbridge (AUS)
Alex Edmondson (AUS)
Tsgabu Grmay (ETH)
Lucas Hamilton (AUS)
Michael Hepburn (AUS)
Damien Howson (AUS)
Amund Grøndahl Jansen (NOR)
Kaden Groves (AUS)
Chris Juul-Jensen (DEN)
Tanel Kangert (EST)
Alex Konychev (ITA)
Jan Maas (NED)
Michael Matthews (AUS)
Cameron Meyer (AUS)
Luka Mezgec (SLO)
Kelland O’Brien (AUS)
Jesús David Peña (COL)
Callum Scotson (AUS)
Nick Schultz (AUS)
Dion Smith (NZL)
Matteo Sobrero (ITA)
Campbell Stewart (NZL)
Simon Yates (GBR)