Vuelta a España stage one team time trial start times

Start times for the opening team time trial in Nîmes

(Image credit: Watson)

The Vuelta a España, the final Grand Tour of the 2017 season, will get underway with a team time trial around the streets of the French city of Nîmes on August 19.

This is the eighth year in a row that the Vuelta has started with a team time trial, with the course of the opening stage of this year's race featuring a flat 13.7km course with just one small rise that will crown the first king of the mountains.

>>> Vuelta a España route 2017: key climbs and what to expect

Team Sky won the opening team time trial in 2016 to put Peter Kennaugh into the leader's red jersey, and the British outfit will be the penultimate team to roll down the start ramp at 18:50 local time.

With Alberto Contador embarking on his final Grand Tour before retirement, the Spaniard has been given race bib number one, with Trek-Segafredo the final starters four minutes after Team Sky.

>>> Vuelta a España 2017 start list

Vuelta a España stage one team time trial start times

All times CET - subtract one hour for BST

1. Manzana Postobon 17:30

2. Lotto-Soudal 17:34

3. Dimension Data 17:38

4. Cannondale-Drapac 17:42

5. Aqua Blue Sport 17:46

6. FDJ 17:50

7. Bora-Hansgrohe 17:54

8. Cofidis 17:58

9. UAE Team Emirates 18:02

10. Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 18:06

11. Team Sunweb 18:10

12. Katusha-Alpecin 18:14

13. Astana 18:18

14. Quick-Step Floors 18:22

15. Bahrain-Merida 18:26

16. LottoNL-Jumbo 18:30

17. BMC Racing 18:34

18. Ag2r La Mondiale 18:38

19. Orica-Scott 18:42

20. Movistar 18:46

21. Team Sky 18:50

22. Trek-Segafredo 18:54

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1