America | Team website

Mads Pedersen

(Image credit: Getty Images)

After first registering in 2011 as a Luxembourg team called Leopard Trek, cycling manufacturer Trek took over the ownership of the team and its ProTeam license in 2014, re-registering them to the United States. Now a UCI WorldTeam and called Trek-Segafredo, the team has had mixed fortunes during its existence.

Trek-Segafredo seemed to place their main hopes of Grand Tour success on Bauke Mollema a few years ago, but while having impressed in some shorter stage races, the 35-year-old has yet to reach the podium of a three-week stage race.

Mads Pedersen and Jasper Stuyven have stepped up in recent years though, performing strongly in the peloton as the team tries to close the gap to the upper reaches of the Grand Tour winning teams. 

In 2021, Pedersen won Kuurne–Brussels–Kuurne, while Stuyven came first in Milan-San Remo, the American team's first Monument win in the race after achieving four successive podiums after beginning in 2011. 

Having said that though, Bauke Mollema also won stage 14 of the Tour de France as the team finished 11th on the UCI World Team Ranking. 

Regardless, Chris Horner remains the only Trek rider to have ever won a Grand Tour race, after his 2013 Vuelta a España win, something the team will be desperate to change, though largely unlikely. The team is still lacking a real standout general classification rider, despite having more of a prominent feature in the Classics and Monuments due to the sprinting nature of the team. 

The departure of strong Italian rider Vicenzo Nibali isn't ideal too, leaving the America team searching for someone to provide them with Grand Tour stage wins, at the very least.

Trek-Segafredo 2022 squad

Jon Aberasturi (ESP)
Filippo Baroncini (ITA)
Julien Bernard (FRA)
Gianluca Brambilla (ITA)
Marc Brustenga (ESP)
Dario Cataldo (ITA)
Giulio Ciccone (ITA)
Jakob Egholm (DEN)
Kenny Elissonde (FRA)
Tony Gallopin (FRA)
Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (ERI)
Asbjørn Hellemose (DEN)
Markus Hoelgaard (NOR)
Daan Hoole (NED)
Alexander Kamp (DEN)
Alex Kirsch (LUX)
Emīls Liepiņš (LAT)
Juan Pedro López (ESP)
Bauke Mollema (NED)
Jacopo Mosca (ITA)
Matteo Moschetti (ITA)
Mads Pedersen (DEN)
Simon Pellaud (SUI)
Quinn Simmons (USA)
Mattias Skjelmose Jensen (DEN)
Toms Skujiņš (LAT)
Jasper Stuyven (BEL)
Edward Theuns (BEL)
Antonio Tiberi (ITA)
Antwan Tolhoek (NED)
Otto Vergaerde (BEL)