Results: February 2011

Major race wins in February

By Cycle Sport staff

Etoile de Besseges (2.1) France

Stage one: Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) FDJ

Stage two: Lloyd Mondory (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale

Stage three: Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis

Stage four: Stéphane Poulhies (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

Stage five: Said Haddou (Fra) Europcar

Overall winner: Anthony Ravard (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale

GP Etruschi (1.1) Italy

Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Trofeo Palma Mallorca (1.1) Spain

Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervélo

Trofeo Cala Millor (1.1) Spain

Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervélo

Trofeo Inca (1.1) Spain

Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack

Trofeo Deia (1.1) Spain

Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar

Trofeo Magaluf-Palma Nova (1.1) Spain

Murilo Fischer (Bra) Garmin-Cervélo

Tour of Qatar (2.1)

Prologue: Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank

Stage one: Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step

Stage two: Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage three: Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage four: Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad

Stage five: Andrea Guardini (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli

Overall winner: Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad

Tour of the Mediterranean (2.1) France

Stage one: Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar

Stage two: Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil

Stage three: Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil

Stage four: Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil

Stage five: David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis

Overall winner: David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis

Tour of Oman (2.1)

Stage one: Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank

Stage two: Matt Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad

Stage three: Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage four: Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank

Stage five: Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad

Overall winner: Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank

Volta ao Algarve (2.1) Portugal

Stage one: Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

Stage two: John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Stage three: Steve Cummings (GB) Sky

Stage four: Andre Greipel (Ger) Omega-Lotto

Stage five: Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Overall winner: Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Tour du Haut Var (2.1) France

Stage one: Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis

Stage two: Julien Antomarchi (Fra) VC La Pomme

Overall winner: Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar

Trofeo Laigueglia (1.1) Italy

Winner: Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Ruta del Sol (2.1) Spain

Stage one: Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

Stage two: Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

Stage three: Francisco Ventoso (Spa) Movistar

Stage four: Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank

Stage five: Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank

Overall winner: Markel Irizar (Spa) RadioShack

Giro di Sardegna (2.1) Italy

Stage one: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage two: Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Stage three: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage four: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage five: Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Overall winner: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

GP Insubrica (1.1) Switzerland

Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (1.HC) Belgium

1 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank

2 Juan-Antonio Flecha (Spa) Sky

3 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky at 1-01

GP di Lugano (1.1) Switzerland

Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Clasica de Almeria (1.1) Spain

Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) Geox-TMC

Classica Sarda Sassari-Cagliari (1.1) Italy

Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha

Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne (1.1) Belgium

Chris Sutton (Aus) Sky

Les Boucles du Sud Ardèche (1.1) France

Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Edward Pickering is a writer and journalist, editor of Pro Cycling and previous deputy editor of Cycle Sport. As well as contributing to Cycling Weekly, he has also written for the likes of the New York Times. His book, The Race Against Time, saw him shortlisted for Best New Writer at the British Sports Book Awards. A self-confessed 'fair weather cyclist', Pickering also enjoys running.