Youthful GB squad named for Beijing Track World Cup

world track champs, 2011 track champs, track, apeldoorn, great britain, chris hoy, sam harrison, team pursuit, team sprint

British Cycling has selected a distinctly youthful squad for the third round of the 2011-12 UCI Track World Cup, taking place in Beijing, China, over January 13-15.

Owain Doull, Joe Kelly, Callum Skinner and Victoria Williamson all make their World Cup debut in China.

They will join George Atkins, Mark Christian, Sam Harrison, Simon Yates, Phillip Hindes, Peter Mitchell and Becky James on the British team.

"Beijing is a great opportunity for the young riders to gain competition experience at elite level, whilst allowing for our Podium athletes to focus on the next round of the World Cup in London, before travelling to Australia for the World Championships," said British Cycling performance director David Brailsford.

Although the team may be young, they are definitely not short of top-level results. Harrison won the omnium at the Beijing World Cup round last January after consistently placing highly in all six of the discipine's events.

Becky James has also swiftly established herself as a solid member of the GB sprint squad, and is the current British keirin and sprint national champion.

Atkins, Christian, Doull, Kelly and Yates are all on British Cycling's Olympic Academy Programme. Harrison stepped up to the Olympic Podium Programme from the Academy late last year. 

Male Endurance

George Atkins

Mark Christian

Owain Doull

Sam Harrison

Joe Kelly

Simon Yates

Female endurance

No competitors

Male Sprint

Phillip Hindes

Peter Mitchell

Callum Skinner

Female Sprint

Becky James

Victoria Williamson

Related links

GB Academy add Atkins, Doull and Slater to line-up

Becky James: Rider Profile

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1