British cyclists receive Sunday Times Sportswomen of Year awards

Sarah Storey and gold medal, London 2012 Paralympic Games, track day three afternoon

Sarah Storey, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott and Dani King were all honoured in the 2012 Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards on Thursday evening.

Storey (pictured right) won the 'Paralympian of the Year' category after dominating the track and road events at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. In total, Storey netted four gold medals in the summer, bringing her career total to 11.

Rowsell, Trott and King struck gold at the Olympic Games in the track team pursuit - with Trott adding another gold in the omnium. The trio were awarded the accolade for 'Team of the Year'.

Storey was unable to collect her award in person due to illness, but told British Cycling afterwards: "I never expected I'd win the SWOTY Paralympian of the Year Award so it came as a lovely surprise.

"I first won it back in 1992 after the Barcelona Paralympic Games, which makes me feel really old! I was gutted I couldn't make the awards ceremony but I'd been ill, so thank you to Tanni Grey-Thompson for accepting it on my behalf."

Storey narrowly missed out on selection for the Olympic team pursuit squad despite being part of the trio that scooped gold at the World Cup round in Colombia in December 2011.

GB team pursuiters (l-r) Dani King, Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell

Related links

Joanna Rowsell: Rider Profile

Dani King: Rider Profile

Laura Trott: Rider Profile

Sarah Storey: Rider Profile

Nigel Wynn
Nigel Wynn

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.