Julian Alaphilippe takes his first win as world champion at Brabantse Pijl 2020

The World Champion was almost pipped at the line again

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Julian Alaphilippe takes his first win as world champion at the second time of asking, but he almost lost out in a photo-finish yet again as Mathieu van der Poel left it very late to sprint for the line.

Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) and Van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) were by far the strongest riders on the day, going clear as a duo multiple times with only Benoît Cosnefroy (Ag2r La Mondiale) able to get across after the penultimate climb.

Van der Poel was boxed in at the sprint with Cosnefroy leading out, and was blocked by Alaphilippe so could only open up his sprint with 40 metres to go.

How it happened 

The riders started the day in Leuven (where the 2021 World Championships will finish), then travelling 197km to Overijse.

A six man break went up the road, including Juraj Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe), Andrea Perron (Novo Nordisk), Thomas Sprengers (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Michael Storer (Team Sunweb), Clément Chevrier (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Matthias Skjelmose (Trek-Segafredo).

But the race was being controlled by Deceuninck - Quick-Step and Alpecin-Fenix behind and with 60km to go it was Deceuninck who upped the pace setting up a move for Julian Alaphilippe up the cobbled climb of the Hertstraat which dragged out Michał Kwiatkowski and Luke Rowe (Ineos Grenadiers), among others, but it didn't last.

More counters went off as the break was brought back with 45km to go, this move included Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale), but again was brought back.

The peloton then hit the hardest climb of the race which is only taken on two time, the cobbled Moskesstraat and Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) led Alaphilippe out with Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) being the only man able to follow.

Stybar was unable to stay with them as Omar Fraile (Astana), Benoît Cosnefroy (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-McLaren) chased.

But, behind Rowe was dragging Kwiatkowski back across and he put an attack in to bridge and he did just that.

CCC Team were now the only team able to work in the main bunch with one man supporting Matteo Trentin and the gap was not growing as Mitchelton-Scott joined the chase for Luka Mezgec.

The lead group grew with Jelle Vanendert (Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles), Warren Barguil (Arkéa-Samsic), Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal), Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) and Alessandro Covi (UAE Team Emirates) joining.

But the last ascent of the Hertstraat and it left two riders in the lead once again, Alaphilippe and Van der Poel pushed clear with 15km to go.

It was Kwiatkowski who brought it all back again but the final ascent of the Moskesstraat saw yet another attack from Alaphilippe with, once again, Van der Poel stuck to his wheel with 11km to go.

Cosnefroy was the only man who was able to get back to the leaders with Covi and Colbrelli chasing back after Devenyns and Kwiatkowski properly dropped.

The chase became a group of nine and was lead by Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-McLaren) who was trying to drag former winner Colbrelli back up to the leaders.

Up front Alaphilippe took the final ascent of the Schavei climb and the last kilometre from the front with Van der Poel on the wheel with Cosnefroy on the back.

>>> Tom Pidcock crowned E-mountain bike world champion  

Cosnefroy opened up his sprint first, the fastest rider on paper was Van der Poel but he was boxed by the two French riders and could only really get going with around 40 metres to go.

Alaphilippe will be very pleased to get the monkey off his back after missing out on the line to Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) and then getting relegated to fifth at Liège-Bastogne-Liège.


Brabantse Pijl 2020: Leuven to Overijse (197km)

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck - Quick-Step

2. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix

3. Benoît Cosnefroy (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale, all same time

4. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-McLaren

5. Warren Barguil (Fra) Arkéa-Samsic

6. Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol) Ineos Grenadiers

7. Andrea Bagioli (Ita) Deceuninck - Quick-Step

8. Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie

9. Alessandro Covi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates

10. Dries Devenyns (Bel) Deceuninck - Quick-Step

Times TBC

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tim Bonville-Ginn

Hi, I'm one of Cycling Weekly's content writers for the web team responsible for writing stories on racing, tech, updating evergreen pages as well as the weekly email newsletter. Proud Yorkshireman from the UK's answer to Flanders, Calderdale, go check out the cobbled climbs!

I started watching cycling back in 2010, before all the hype around London 2012 and Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France. In fact, it was Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck's battle in the fog up the Tourmalet on stage 17 of the Tour de France.

It took me a few more years to get into the journalism side of things, but I had a good idea I wanted to get into cycling journalism by the end of year nine at school and started doing voluntary work soon after. This got me a chance to go to the London Six Days, Tour de Yorkshire and the Tour of Britain to name a few before eventually joining Eurosport's online team while I was at uni, where I studied journalism. Eurosport gave me the opportunity to work at the world championships in Harrogate back in the awful weather.

After various bar jobs, I managed to get my way into Cycling Weekly in late February of 2020 where I mostly write about racing and everything around that as it's what I specialise in but don't be surprised to see my name on other news stories.

When not writing stories for the site, I don't really switch off my cycling side as I watch every race that is televised as well as being a rider myself and a regular user of the game Pro Cycling Manager. Maybe too regular.

My bike is a well used Specialized Tarmac SL4 when out on my local roads back in West Yorkshire as well as in northern Hampshire with the hills and mountains being my preferred terrain.