Aviva Women's Tour route revealed with Peak District making first appearance

The Aviva Women's Tour heads to the hills in 2016, with a stage in the Peak District providing possibly the toughest edition of the race to date

Braintree start, Women's Tour 2015, stage two
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Riders at the 2016 Aviva Women's Tour (June 15-19) will have to find their climbing legs as the race heads to the hills for its toughest edition in its three-year history.

Four of the five stages take place in the heart of England, heading to the Peak District for the first time in the stage between Ashbourne and Chesterfield on day three.

Warwickshire will also get a first visit on stage two as riders travel between Atherstone and Stratford-upon-Avon, while Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent will host the start and finish of stage four respectively.

Riders then return to the familiar parcours of Northamptonshire for a final stage between Northampton and Kettering, where Christine Majerus took the win in the 2015 edition.

2016 Women's Tour route

2016 Women's Tour route

"We are delighted to present the route for the 2016 Aviva Women's Tour with a significantly tougher parcours than the previous editions, as requested by the team's following last year, allowing us to take the race to some new areas," said race director Mick Bennett.

"The interest from venues around the country to host the race has been huge, allowing us to put together an attractive route that will make not only for excellent racing, but also big crowds from the major towns and cities on, or close to the route.

"When we created the Women's Tour in 2014 we said that our aim was for the event to be the world's best women's race within three years and it is our firm belief that being a part of the new UCI Women's WorldTour sees us well on course to do so.”

>>> Tour of Britain searches for new title sponsor as Aviva pulls the plug

Aviva Women's Tour route

Stage One, Wednesday 15 June: Southwold to Norwich, 132km

Stage Two, Thursday 16 June: Atherstone to Stratford-upon-Avon, 140km

Stage Three, Friday 17 June: Ashbourne to Chesterfield, 112km

Stage Four, Saturday 18 June: Nottingham to Stoke-on-Trent, 119km

Stage Five, Sunday 19 June: Northampton to Kettering, 133km

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1