Cyclists left off BBC Sports Personality of the Year shortlist

No cyclist has been selected for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award shortlist for the first time since 2007.

The BBC announced the 10 sportspeople shortlisted for the 2014 award on Monday evening. The list was whittled down by a 12-member panel of judges.

>> Struggling to get to the shops try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

Despite winning the time trial world title, Bradley Wiggins failed to make the list this year. Among those cyclists also absent were women’s World Cup winner and Commonwealth gold medallist Lizzie Armitstead, and downhill mountain bike World Cup and World Champion Manon Carpenter.

Three cyclists have won the SPOTY award in the past 10 years: Bradley Wiggins (2012), Mark Cavendish (2011) and Chris Hoy (2008).

Chris Froome was on last year’s shortlist after claiming the 2013 Tour de France title, but the award went to Andy Murray after his Wimbledon success.

The shortlisted 10 for 2014 are: Rory McIlroy (golf), Gareth Bale (football), Max Whitlock (gymnastics), Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1), Adam Peaty (swimming), Lizzy Yarnold (skeleton), Carl Froch (boxing), Charlotte Dujardin (dressage), Jo Pavey (athletics) and Kelly Gallagher/Charlotte Evans (skiing).

After winning the Formula 1 Driver’s Championship on Sunday in Abu Dhabi, Lewis Hamilton is now the bookmaker’s favourite to take the accolade. The winner will be decided by public vote during a live broadcast on Sunday, December 14.