Helen Wyman wins Flandriencross cyclo-cross race in Belgium

British national champion Helen Wyman took the victory over Sanne Cant in the Bpost Bank Trofee Series race in Hamme

Helen Wyman
(Image credit: Watson)

Helen Wyman (Kona) took her first victory of the 2015/16 cyclo-cross season in the Bpost Bank Trofee Flandriencross event in Belgium on Sunday.

British national champion Wyman prevailed in the extremely muddy conditions to beat Belgian World Cup leader Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP), who suffered a badly-timed mechanical near the race's finale.


Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea) continued her strong season with third place, putting two British riders on the podium.

>>> Sven Nys back on top with emotional 50th cyclo-cross World Cup win

"Oh did I mention this?? My old friend sweet winning how I've missed you, shall we dance again next weekend?! Ha ha" Wyman joked on Twitter after the victory.

See more


Wout van Aert won the men's race ahead of Sven Nys, with Kevin Pauwels in third.

The Bpost Bank Trofee Series continues with round four on December 5 in Essen, Belgium.

>> If you’re interested in Cyclocross take a look at our Adventure Cross series <<

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1