Joaquim Rodriguez wins Volta a Catalunya overall

Lieuwe Westra takes solo win on final stage in Barcelona as Joaquim Rodriguez keeps race lead - Chris Froome finishes sixth overall despite crash in slippery conditions

Alberto Contador, Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver and Tejay van Garderen on the podium after Stage Seven of the 2014 Tour of Catalonia

Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) won the Volta a Catalunya overall on Sunday, successfully fending off attacks on the final day's racing in Barcelona.

Lieuwe Westra (Astana) took a solo win on the last stage, run off in wet conditions around eight laps of the hilly finishing circuit in the Spanish city.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.