Marianne Vos wins first edition of La Course in Paris

Marianne Vos takes the honours in Paris as Lizzie Armitstead crashes in final kilometre

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Marianne Vos (Rabo-Liv) won the bunch sprint to win the inaugural edition of La Course by Le Tour de France in Paris on Sunday. The World Champion beat fellow Dutch woman, Kirsten Wild (Giant-Shimano) into second place, winning the race she had a part in inspiring and organising.

The win was just reward for Vos’s efforts in creating the event. “This is a dream come true,” Vos said after the finish. “It was fantastic to race here. This was our chance to show that women’s cycling is great to watch.”

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1