Metcalfe wins inaugural Urban Hill Climb

Burton, Metcalfe and Clarke, Rollapuluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

Chris Metcalfe (Matlock CC) won the inaugural Rollapaluza Urban Hill Climb on Swains Lane, Highgate, London on Thursday (July 22).

Metcalfe clocked a time of one minute and 32.9 seconds on the 950 metre climb, beating around 100 other entrants.

However, it was 15-year-old Germain Burton who set the early marker with one minute 33.7 seconds - a time which would only be bettered by Metcalfe. Dave Clarke (Pendragon) placed third with one minute and 34.1 seconds.

Claire Beaumont took the women's category, with Burton topping the youth male results. John Storms (Kingston Wheelers) won the veterans category.

The event was inspired by Simon Warren's recent, and highly popular, book 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs, which includes Swains Lane as one of the greatest ascents in the UK. Warren himself took part in the event coming a highly creditable ninth.

Hundreds of spectators turned out to watch the event, which attracted a range of cyclists from hardcore racers to commuters on folding bikes to Iggy Jimenez, who rode up the course with a dog in a handlebar-mounted basket. Swains Lane was closed to traffic for the event.

Prizes for the free-to-enter event were provided by London-based retailer Condor Cycles and cash prizes from organisers Rollapaluza.


Rollapaluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

1. Chris Metcalfe (Matlock CC) in 1-32.9

2. Germain Burton (Individual) 1-33.7

3. Dave Clarke (Pendragon) 1-34.6

4. Juston Hoy (Saddleback) 1-34.7

5. Matthew Theobalds (CS Grupetto) 1-35.8

6. Matt Holmes (Arctic RT) 1-38.0

7. Matthew Steven (High Wycombe CC) 1-38.9

8. Tom Ballhatchet (Rollapaluza CC) 1-41.0

9. Simon Warren (Norwood Paragon) 1-42.1

10. John Storms (Kingston Wheelers) 1-42.3


1. Clarie Beaumont (Rapha Condor) in 2-08.4

2. Alexandra Marzec (London Phoenix) 2-14.1

3. Jo Perriam (Full on Tri) 2-17.8


1. Germain Burton (Individual) in 1-33.7

2. Alex Cozens (Individual) 1-58.7


1. John Storms (Kingston Wheelers) in 1-42.3

2. Don Wiley (Mosquito Bikes) 1-50.6

Simon Warren, Rollapuluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

100 Climbs author Simon Warren starts off

Iggy Jimenez, Rollapuluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

Iggy Jimenez and friend

Claire Beaumont, Rollapuluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

Women's winner Claire Beaumont

Chris Metcalfe, Rollapuluza Urban Hill Climb 2010

Overall winner Chris Metcalfe

All photos:

Related links

Rollapaluza presents new Urban Hill Climb

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1