Moseley crowns strong week for Brits at MTB Worlds

Britain’s Tracy Moseley won the women’s downhill mountain bike world championship on Sunday in Monte Sainte Anne, Canada, crowning a long and illustrious career in the sport.

Moseley, 31, from Worcester, swept aside a strong challenge from a trio of French women to take the title on the wet and muddy course. It’s the one title that has alluded Moseley up until now, having previously won the British national title multiple times, World Cup rounds and the World Cup overall

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

In the men’s downhill, defending champion Steve Peat from Sheffield failed to repeat his winning run of last year and finished seventh behind winner Sam Hill of Australia. Peat was one of four Brits in the top ten – along with 2008 World Champion Gee Atherton (fifth), Marc Beaumont (fifth) and Danny Hart (eighth).

Lewis Buchanan won bronze for Great Britain in the junior men’s downhill. 

In the cross-country disciplines, Malvern’s Liam Killeen placed seventh behind winner Jose Antonio Hermida of Spain in the elite men’s category. Top British cross-country result went to Annie Last, who scored silver in the women’s under-23 category.

Results (top three and best British rider)
UCI Mountain bike world championships 2010: Elite men downhill
1. Samuel Hill (Australia)

2. Steve Smith (Canada)
3. Greg Minnaar (South Africa)
5. Gee Atherton (Great Britain)

Elite women downhill
1. Tracy Moseley (Great Britain)

2. Sabrina Jonnier (France)
3. Emmeline Ragot (France)

Junior men downhill
1. Troy Brosnan (Australia)

2. Neko Mulally (USA)
3. Lewis Buchanan (Great Britain)

Junior women downhill
1. Lauren Rosser (Canada)

2. Fanny Lombard (France)
3. Julie Berteaux (France)
No British competitor

Elite men cross-country
Jose Antonio Hermida (Spain)
2. Jaroslav Kulhavy (Czech Republic)
3. Burry Stander (South Africa)
7. Liam Killeen (Great Britain)

Elite women cross-country
1. Maja Wloszczowska (Poland)

2. Irina Kalentieva (Russia)
3. Willow Koerber (USA)
No British competitor

Under-23 men cross-country
1. Mathias Fluckiger (Switzerland)

2. Thomas Litscher (Switzerland)
3. Patrik Gallati (Switzerland)
14. David Fletcher (Great Britain)

Under-23 women cross-country
Alexandra Engen (Sweden)
2. Annie Last (Great Britain)
3. Paula Gorycka (Poland)

Junior men cross-country
Michiel Van Der Heijden (Netherlands)
2. Julien Trarieux (France)
3. Julian Schelb (Germany)
15. Grant Ferguson (Great Britain)

Junior women cross-country
Pauline Ferrand Prevot (France)
2. Yana Belomoyna (Ukraine)
3. Helen Grobert (Germany)
No British competitor

Elite men four-cross
Tomas Slavik (Czech Republic)
2. Jared Graves (Australia)
3. Michal Prokop (Czech Republic)
16. Scott Beaumont (Great Britain)

Elite women four-cross
Caroline Buchanan (Australia)

Jana Horakova (Czech Republic)
3. Romana Labounkova (Czech Republic)

Katy Curd (Great Britain)