Movistar announce smaller men's WorldTour team for 2018

Men's Movistar squad down from 28 riders to 25. Newly-formed women's team has 10 riders

Nairo Quintana and Movistar during the 2017 Tour de France

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Movistar announced the re-signing of Colombian Dayer Quintana on Thursday, finalising their men's 2018 WorldTour roster.

The Spanish squad's team has dropped from 28 riders to 25, reflecting a reduction in the size of teams required to take part in individual UCI races. From 2018, Grand Tour squads will comprise eight instead of nine riders and shorter stage races and single-day events will host seven-rider teams rather than eight. Other WorldTour teams have also presented more compact squads for 2018.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.