No Wiggins or Cavendish but London Six Day announces strong lineup

Niki Terpstra, Iljo Keisse and Morgan Kneisky headline the London Six Day, but Bradley Wiggins will not compete

London velodrome

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Sir Bradley Wiggins will not be riding the inaugural London Six Day this month because of his other track commitments, but the organisers have released a strong start list for the showcase event.

Wiggins is already committed to riding the European Track Championships, Revolution Series and Cali World Cup in the coming months.

It's the first time London has hosted a Six Day event since 1980 and WorldTour stars like Niki Terpstra and Iljo Keisse (Etixx-Quick Step), Adam Blythe (Orica-GreenEdge) and Michael Morkov (Tinkoff-Saxo) have signed up for the mens events, while Brits Dani King and Sarah Storey are in the women's field.

Track specialist Morgan Kneisky also lines up, along with several members of the British Cycling Academy, such as Germain Burton, Mark Stewart, Chris Latham and Ollie Wood.

The Six Day takes place at the Olympic Velodrome in the Lee Valley VeloPark between October 18 and 23 and tickets can be purchased on the event's website.

Men’s lineup

Morgan Kneisky (Fra) and Lucas Liss (Ger)

Michael Morkov (DEN) and Jasper Morkov (DEN)

Iljo Keisse (Bel) and Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel)

Glenn O’Shea (Aus) and Adam Blythe (GBR)

Alex Rasmussen (DEN) and Mark Hester (DEN)

Germain Burton (GBR) and Mark Stewart (GBR)

Chris Latham (GBR) and Ollie Wood (GBR)

Niki Terpstra (NED) and Yoeri Havik (NED)

Stefan Schafer (Ger) and Christian Grasman (Ger)

Sebastian Wotschke (Ger) and Achim Burkart (Ger)

Jasper Asselman (Ned) and Welsey Kreder (Ned)

Lasse-Norman Hansen (Den) and Martyn Irvine (Irl)

David Muntaner (Spa) and Albert Torres (Spa)

Ivan Kovalev (Rus) and Melvin Van Zijl (Ned)

Chris Lawless (GBR) and Denis Rugovac (Cze)

Andreas Muller (Aut) and Andreas Graf (Aut)

Jacob Duehring (USA) and Daniel Holloway (USA)

Kenny De Ketele (Bel) and Moreno De Pauw (Bel)

Women’s lineup

Laura Basso (Ita)

Janine Bubner (Ger)

Tela Crane (USA)

Verena Eberhardt (Aut)

Charline Joiner (GBR)

Romy Kasper (Ger)

Dani King (GBR)

Lisa Kullmer (Ger)

Judith Leth (Den)

Jarmila Machacova (Cze)

Tatjana Paller (Ger)

Alzbeta Pavlendova (Svk)

Stephanie Pohl (Ger)

Christine Robson (GBR)

Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Nor)

Sarah Storey (GBR)

Amalie Winther-Olson (Den)

Malgorzata Wojtyra (Pol)

Sprint lineup

Tomas Babek (Cze)

Denis Dmitriev (Rus)

Nate Koch (USA)

Kazunari Watanabe (Jpn)

Matthew Rotherham (GBR)

Thomas Rotherham (GBR)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1