Stybar, Dumoulin and Van Avermaet among national award winners

Zdenek Stybar is the latest rider to win their country's 'cyclist of the year' award, joining some other riders who have had more than decent years

Greg Van Avermaet wins the 2014 'Crystal Cyclist' award

(Image credit: Watson)

It’s awards season in the cycling industry, with Alberto Contador picking up the Velo d’Or trophy and various countries naming their ‘cyclist of the year’. Here are some of the recent winners, kicking off with Czech rider Zdenek Stybar.

Czech Republic

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.