Tour de Suisse

Tour de Suisse 2017 by Yuzuru Sunada

Where: Switzerland
When: June 15-23 2019
Rank: UCI WorldTour

Along with the Critérium du Dauphiné, the Tour de Suisse is one of the key preparation events for riders taking part in the Tour de France, in addition to being a prestigious race in its own right. In 2019, it takes place between June 15-23.

The race traditionally features a mixture of time trials, relatively flat stages for the sprinters and high mountains. In the past, the weather has also played a part in the event, with the high mountain passes often affected by poor conditions and snowfall.

The outgoing edition was won by Richie Porte, and served as a preparation race for the Tour de France.

Porte seemed to be in fine form, entering the final time trial 17 seconds ahead of Nairo Quintana (Movistar), and extending his lead in the solo race to win by 1-02 ahead of Jakob Fuglsang (Astana).

Tour de Suisse 2019 route

The race opens with a 9.5 kilometre individual time trial in Langnau. The route is flat and will favour a typical tester.

The next day, stage two, is a circuit race also in Langnau. The 159.6km race will feature three ascents of both the Chuderhüsi Pass and Schallenberg Pass – so it won’t be a flat one.

There’s another hilly one for stage three, on Monday June 17. However, the finish in Murten is a flat run in, so could favour a sprinter if they’re still in good shape following the early slopes.

Stage four, from Murten to Arlesheim, passes over the Jura mountains and the Passwang Pass. It could be a breakaway day, whilst stage five into Einsiedeln looks like a day for the sprinters.

Stage six is just 120 kilometres, but with a summit finish up the 10.8 kilometre Flumserberg – with its average gradient of 9 per cent – we’re likely to see the GC battle kick heat up here.

Stage seven isn’t much flatter – with the final 50 kilometres of the 216.6km day all uphill, finishing atop of the Gothard Pass – which features cobbles just to make it even more interesting.

The eighth stage is a 19 kilometre individual time trial, over a mostly flat course which will favour a traditional time trialist.

The queen stage falls on the final day. Stage nine takes riders over the Furka Pass, Susten Pass and Grimsel Pas, and accumulates over 4,000 vertical metres – with a finish in Ulrichen.

Tour de Suisse 2019 stages

Stage 1, Sat June 15: Langnau – Langnau, ITT (9.5km)
Stage 2, Sun June 16: Langnau – Langnau, hills (159.6km)
Stage 3, Mon June 17: Flamatt – Murten, hills (162.3km)
Stage 4, Tues June 18: Murten – Arlesheim, hills (163.9km)
Stage 5, Weds June 19: Münchenstein – Einsiedeln, hills (177km)
Stage 6, Thurs June 20: Einsiedeln – Flumserberg, mountains (120.2km)
Stage 7, Fri June 21: Unterterzen – Gotthard Pass, mountains (216.6km)
Stage 8, Sat June 22: Goms – Goms, ITT (19.2km)
Stage 9, Sun June 23: Goms – Goms, mountains (144.4km)

Tour de Suisse: Recent winners

2018 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC
2017 Simon Špilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin
2016 Miguel Ángel López (Col) Astana
2015 Simon Špilak (Slo) Katusha
2014 Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida
2013 Rui Costa (Por) Movistar
2012 Rui Costa (Por) Movistar
2011 Levi Leiphemier (USA) RadioShack
2010 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank
2009 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Saxo Bank
2008 Roman Kreuziger (Lux) Liquigas
2007 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Caisse D’Epargne

Key info: Start list | Live TV guide

Key riders: Richie Porte | Nairo Quintana | Greg van Avermaet | Peter SaganSteven Kruijswijk