Greg Van Avermaet's Ghent-Wevelgem winning BMC Team Machine

Greg Van Avermaet's BMC Team Machine SLR01 which he rode to his Ghent–Wevelgem victory is a real looker – we take a closer look

This is Greg Van Avermaet's Classic smashing BMC Team Machine SLR01 pro bike, which he stormed to victory aboard at Ghent–Wevelgem.

For starters, it's a beautiful looking machine, standing bold in a sleek stainless silver finish. But that blinding finish isn't the only thing that's neat about this pro ride.

BMC paired Shimano's old chain rings with the new groupset

It's equipped with Shimano's Dura-Ace Di2 drive chain – although it's not all totally new. BMC are running the new Dura-Ace rear mech, brakes and shifters but have opted for the old chainrings on the basis that SRM haven't released an updated power meter yet.

>>> Five things we learnt from Ghent-Wevelgem

The Ghent-Wevelgem champion is also running the new 35mm Dura-Ace wheels, with 25mm Vittoria Corsa G+ tyres.

Avermaet's Fizik saddle

Avermaet uses a Fizik saddle

In terms of components, Van Avermaet is using 3T bars and stem, a Fizik Antares 00 saddle as well as Dura-Ace pedals. Other neat finishing touches include the internal cable routing and lightweight bottle cages.

Watch: Disc brake bike of the year 2017: BMC Roadmachine 

The fact that this isn't as cobble specific as some of the other cobble gobbling machines used by other racers, such as the Trek Domane used by John Degenkolb, doesn't seem to bother Van Avermaet. Ghent-Wevelgem is the Olympic road race champion's third Classic success of the season, alongside Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and E3 Harelbeke.

Shimano Dura-Ace brakes and Vittoria Corsa G+ tyre

Vittoria Cora G+ tyres

However, with that said, those thin seat stays, slim seat post and the 25mm tyres will have gone some distance in making the ride more comfortable.

This year's edition of Ghent-Wevelgem was a real nail biter, with Van Avermaet taking control of the race, distancing himself and Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott) from the chasing group comprised notably of Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe).

The latter allowed the pair to escape after becoming displeased with doing the majority of the work for both Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors) and Soren Kragh Andersen (Sunweb) through the race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1