Greg Van Avermaet pips Peter Sagan to Omloop Het Nieuwsblad victory

Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet wins second consecutive edition of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad ahead of Peter Sagan. Luke Rowe sixth

Greg Van Avermaet wins 2017 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

(Image credit: LC/Tim De Waele/Corbis via Getty Images)

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) won Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in Belgium on Saturday, in a cobbled-classic season opener that did not disappoint.

Belgian Olympic champion Van Avermaet beat world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) to the line, with Sep Vanmarcke (Cannondale-Drapac) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1