Andrea Guardini wins Tour of Oman opening stage

Andrea Guardini wins stage one of the 2015 Tour of Oman

(Image credit: Watson)

Italian sprinter Andrea Guardini (Astana) won the opening stage of the 2015 Tour of Oman on Tuesday and will wear the leader's jersey going into stage two.

Guardini crossed the line to take his first win of the season ahead of Tom Boonen (Etixx-QuickStep) in second and Matteo Pelucchi (IAM Cycling) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.