Dylan Groenewegen times sprint to perfection to win stage two of Paris-Nice

Dutch sprinter too powerful for Viviani and Greipel in uphill finish - Arnaud Démare extends overall lead

Dylan Groenewegen sprints to victory on stage two of Paris-Nice

(Image credit: Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) took victory on the second stage of Paris-Nice as he timed his sprint to perfection on the uphill ramp to the line in Vierzon.

The Dutch rider bided his time as splits appeared on the long final straight with two of Quick-Step Floors lead out riders found themselves a few metres off the front of the peloton.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.