Oldham wins National Trophy cyclo-cross opener

Cyclo-cross news logo

Defending National Trophy Series champion Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) drew first blood in the 2010 series with victory in the opening round in Wales on Sunday.

Oldham was rarely off the front of the race on a fast and dry course at Abergavenny Leisure Centre, where he beat Hargroves Cycles' Jody Crawforth to victory by 22 seconds, while the visiting Belgian's were left scrapping for the minor placings.

Oldham was part of an eight-rider group which established early in the race and included Crawforth as well as Liam Killeen, but it was not long before Oldham and Crawforth cruised off the front.

They eventually opened up a gap of around a minute on the rest of the break, who seemed content to let them go and left it too late to claw them back once they realised the danger.

With a couple of laps remaining Oldham, safe in the knowledge that they would not be caught, set about dropping Crawforth and eased clear, crossing the line 22 seconds ahead of his fellow Brit, while Belgium's Kris Lapere (Mez Team) took third, 57 seconds behind and just inches ahead of Killeen.

Behind them, a trio of Belgian's salvaged the minor placings, with fifth going to Babaco Cycling Team's Floris De Tier, nine seconds ahead of Kenny Geluykens (Scott) while Isorex rider Arno Van Den Abeel was seventh, 18 seconds ahead of Hargroves Cycles' Stuart Bowers.

There was a convincing winner of the women's race, where Helen Wyman (Kona UK) crossed the line more than two minutes ahead of Team Corridori rider Corrinne Hall, while Stourbridge CC's Isla Rowntree was third, another 38 seconds off the pace.

Team De Ver's Taylor Johnstone put his good form in the London League to good use with victory in the junior race, beating Solihull CC rival Joseph Fox by just eight seconds.

Another Midlands rider, Darren Atkins of Coventry RC, won the over-40s event by 29 seconds from Yorkshire rival Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo), while Endura's Steven Davis won the over-50s from Raleigh's Ian Wright.


National Trophy Series (Round One, Abergavenny Leisure Centre, South Wales)


1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 1-03-43

2 Jody Crawforth (Hargroves Cycles) at 22sec

3 Kris Lapere (Mez Team, Belgium) at 57sec

4 Liam Killeen (unattached) same time

5 Floris De Tier (Babaco CT, Belgium) at 1-12

6 Kenny Geluykens (Scott, Belgium) at 1-21

7 Arno Van Den Abeel (Isorex, Belgium) at 1-33

8 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) at 1-51

9 Nick Craig (Scott UK) at 2-19

10 Daniel Booth (Cult Racing) at 2-42


1 Helen Wyman (Kona UK) 35-34

2 Corinne Hall (Team Corridori) at 2-03

3 Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge CC) at 2-41


1 Darren Atkins (Coventry RC) 40-32

2 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) at 29sec

3 Matt Denby (Zepnat RT) at 39sec


1 Steven Davies (Endura) 43-14

2 Ian Wright (Raleigh) at 27sec

3 Dave McMullen (Evans Cycles) at 42sec


1 Taylor Johnstone (Team De Ver) 40-10

2 Joseph Fox (Solihull CC) at 8sec

3 Jack Clarkson (Pedalsport CC) at 37sec

Youth Boys

Billy Harding (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)

Youth Girls

Alice Barnes (Palmer Park Velo)

Under-14 Boys

Arthur Green (Matlock CC)

Under-14 girls

Charlotte Broughton (Leicester RC)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1