Who’s been with their team the longest?

Jose Vicente Garcia Acosta

Jose Vicente Garcia Acosta

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

This article originally appeared in the November 2010 issue of Cycle Sport magazine

We’re like a pair of old geezers on a bench, tutting disapprovingly about the youth of today, here at Cycle Sport.

Barely a new-fangled fad or development takes place in the world of cycling without us leaning back in our chairs, putting our feet on the desks and waxing nostalgic about things being better in our day.

That’s why we thoroughly approve of the venerable quartet of riders which consists of Jose Vicente Garcia Acosta, Frédéric Guesdon, Pablo Lastras and David Moncoutié. In a world of change, these four riders have remained loyal to their teams for 13 years, and counting.

Garcia Acosta and Lastras both signed for Banesto for the 1998 season as new professionals. They both remained loyal to the team through its exciting rebranding as iBanesto.com, through the Illes Balears years, to its present incarnation as Caisse d’Epargne. Garcia Acosta is definitely remaining with the team next year, as the sponsor changes to Movistar, while Lastras will probably do so.

Ironically, 1998 was when Jeremy Hunt also joined Banesto for his first year as a professional. To put Lastras and Garcia Acosta’s stints at the team into perspective, Hunt could be on his seventh professional team next year, a peloton record.

Likewise, David Moncoutié joined Cofidis and Frédéric Guesdon joined FDJ the same year, and both are set to remain for a 14th year in 2011. When Guesdon signed for FDJ his team-mate Thibaut Pinot, the ProTour’s youngest rider, was seven years old.

Rider/team/number of years
Jose Vicente Garcia Acosta (Caisse d’Epargne) 13
Frédéric Guesdon (Française des Jeux) 13
Pablo Lastras (Caisse d’Epargne) 13
David Moncoutié (Cofidis) 13
Sandy Casar (Française des Jeux) 11
Kevin Hulsman (Quick Step) 11
Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) 11
Ludovic Turpin (Ag2r-La Mondiale) 11
Pavel Brutt (Katusha) 10
Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel-Euskadi) 10
Sergey Klimov (Katusha) 10
Thomas Voeckler (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) 10
Xabier Zandio (Caisse d’Epargne) 10