Christophe Riblon takes solo win on stage two of Tour of Poland

Christophe Riblon wins, Tour of Poland 2013, stage 2

Christophe Riblon (Ag2r) added to his Alpe d'Huez Tour de France stage win with a victory on stage two of the Tour of Poland on Sunday.

The Frenchman soloed to the win on Passo Pordoi in Italy. Thomas Rohregger (RadioShack) put in a sprited chase up the final climb of Passo Pordoi but Riblon was never going to be caught as he powered ahead. Georg Preidler (Argos-Shimano) came home for third.

Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) lost his overnight lead to Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff), who now leads Sergio Henao (Sky) overall by four seconds. Riblon moves up to third overall at six seconds.

Bradley Wiggins (Sky) finished the day's stage over 15 minutes down on Riblon after assisting team-mate Henao, and is now 49th overall. Giro d'Italia winner Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) is obviously taking it easy in the race, and is now over half an hour in arrears of race leader Majka.

The race now takes a one-day break as it travels back to Poland from the opening two days in Italy.


Tour of Poland 2013, stage two: Marilleva Val di Sole to Passo Pordoi (Italy), 196km

1. Christophe Riblon (Fra) Ag2r

2. Thomas Rohregger (Aut) RadioShack-Leopard at 1-02

3. Georg Preidler (Aut) Argos-Shimano at 1-18

4. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 1-35

5. Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff at 1-35

6. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge at 1-38

7. Chris Anker Sorensen (Den) Saxo-Tinkoff at 1-40

8. Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 1-44

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r at 1-44

10. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack-Leopard at 1-47


53. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky at 15-40

60. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana at 23-44

Overall classification after stage two

1. Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff

2. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 4 secs

3. Christophe Riblon (Fra) Ag2r at 6 secs

4. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge at 7 secs

5. Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 9 secs

6. Chris Anker Sorensen (Den) Saxo-Tinkoff at 9 secs

7. Eros Capecchi (Ita) Movistar at 13 secs

8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r at 13 secs

9. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack-Leopard at 16 secs

10. Thomas Rohregger (Aut) RadioShack-Leopard at 18 secs


49. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky at 23-22

60. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana at 31-26

Diego Ulissi in yellow

Vincenzo Nibali: taking it steady on the climbs

Christophe Riblon solo on Passo Pordoi

Christophe Riblon soloing to the stage win

Christophe Riblon finished over a minute ahead of his closest rival

Rafal Majka takes the overall lead as the Tour of Poland heads home

Related links

Stage one: Ulissi wins Tour of Poland opener

Tour of Poland 2013: The Big Preview

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1