Elisa Longo Borghini takes a solo success in enthralling GP Plouay 2021

Aggression pays off for the Italian who made her winning move with 12km remaining

Elisa Longo Borghini wins the 2021 GP Plouay, GP Lorient Agglomeration Trophée Ceratizit
(Image credit: Luc Claesen/Getty images)

Italian champion Elisa Longo Borghini took the win at the end of an enthralling edition of GP Plouay on Monday. The Trek-Segafredo rider had been hugely active throughout the race, making the wining move 12km out on the course’s steepest slopes.

With a reduced peloton struggling to bring her back she managed to stay clear, winning by a handful of seconds from Gladys Verhulst (Arkéa) in second with the in-form Kristen Faulkner (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank) third at the head of a group of around 20.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.