Gerdemann takes lead in Luxembourg

Linus Gerdemann wins, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Linus Gerdemann gave his Leopard-Trek squad another home win, soloing to take stage two in the Tour of Luxembourg on Friday and earning the overall lead in the process.

Gerdemann won the stage having ridden an aggressive race throughout. The German attacked fellow escapees Anthony Charteau (Europcar) and Jurgen Van Goolen (Veranda's Willems-Accent) on the second of three finishing circuits and the rest of the field didn't see him again.

Frenchman Arthur Vichot (FDJ) was the first of the chase group to follow Gerdemann across the line in Differdange, with Jérémie Galland (Saur-Sojasun) in third.

Britain's Chris Froome (Sky) was part of the chasing group and finished ninth.

Luxembourg-based Leopard-Trek couldn't have hoped for a better performance in its home race, with Fabian Cancellara cruising to win the opening prologue on Wednesday and keeping the leader's jersey until he passed it to Gerdemann on Friday.

Gerdemann leads Alexandre Geniez (Skil-Shimano) by just two seconds in the overall classification. Tony Gallopin (Cofidis) is third, a further second back. Ian Stannard is the top British rider on GC in 20th spot, 1-51 adrift of Gerdemann.

The five-day, UCI 2.HC-category Tour of Luxembourg concludes on Sunday, June 5. Italian Matteo Carrara (Vacansoleil) won last year's edition of the race.  


Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage two: Schifflange to Differdange, 200.7km

1. Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard-Trek in 5-16-19

2. Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ at 9 secs

3. Jeremie Galland (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

4. Mickael Delage (Fra) FDJ

5. Tony Gallopin (Fra) Cofidis

6. Julien El Fares (Fra) Cofidis

7. Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

8. Bjorn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM

9. Chris Froome (GB) Sky

10. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard-Trek at same time

Overall classification after stage two

1. Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard-Trek in 10-08-55

2. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) Skil-Shimano at 2 secs

3. Tony Gallopin (Fra) Cofidis at 3 secs

4. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard-Trek at 5 secs

5. Mickael Delage (Fra) FDJ at 8 secs

6. Jeremie Galland (Fra) Saur-Sojasun at 10 secs

7. Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent at 11 secs

8. Julien El Fares (Fra) Cofidis at 11 secs

9. Bjorn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM at 12 secs

10. Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 13 secs

Alex Dowsett, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Brit Alex Dowsett during stage two

Fabian Cancellara, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Prologue winner Fabian Cancellara

Linus Gerdemann goes solo, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Linus Gerdemann's strong solo effort netted him the win

Linus Gerdemann wins, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Linus Gerdemann takes the stage and overall lead

Linus Gerdemann in lead, Tour of Luxembourg 2011, stage 2

Tour of Luxembourg 2011: Related links

Stage one: Galimzyanov defies Sky mass assault

Cancellara wins Luxembourg prologue

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1