Alejandro Valverde sprints to Volta a Catalunya stage two win

Spaniard raced ahead of teammate J.J Rojas to claim win on a rainy stage two in Catalunya

Alejandro Valverde wins stage two of the 2015 Volta a Catalunya

(Image credit: Watson)

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) sprinted to victory on stage two of the Volta a Catalunya on Tuesday, with teammate José Joaquin Rojas following his compatriot into second.

The stage two route was another lumpy affair, with a category three climb coming shortly before the line, which made it diffcult for the specialist sprinters in the race to be present right towards the end.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).