Commonwealth cyclists arrive in Delhi - and there's not a dirty sink in sight...

British cycling news round up logo

Commonwealth cyclists arrive in Delhi

The majority of the England, Scotland, Welsh and Northern Irish cycling teams have arrived in Delhi for the Commonwealth Games, which has its opening ceremony in the Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Complex in two days time.

There were accommodation and structural worries in the fortnight run-up to the Games, as photos revealed filthy sinks, squalid living conditions and flooded living quarters.

However, on arrival, there wasn't a dirty sink in sight, with Welsh cyclists at least reported to be happy with their living quarters (see photos below).

Training conditions are a little different to usual though. Guernsey cyclist Tobyn Horton posted the following Facebook status on Wednesday afternoon:

"70km on a 3 lane wide closed 8.5km stretch of road with 92 armed guards watching... not your everyday training ride!"

The track cycling competitions start next Tuesday, running for three days.

The road race is on October 10, with the time-trial on Wednesday 13.

The sparkling bathroom of a Team Wales member

The lounge area in a hotel room

The Commonwealth cycling squads in full

Lizzie Armitstead, George Atkins, Anna Blyth, Katie Colclough, David Daniell, Alex Dowsett, Chris Froome, Jeremy Hunt, Sharon Laws, Pete Mitchell, Lucy Martin, Emma Pooley, Erick Rowsell, Sarah Storey, Emma Trott, Laura Trott and Simon Yates.

Northern Ireland: Adam Armstrong, Heather Carson, Wendy Houvenaghel, Michael Hutchinson, Martyn Irvine, Phil Lavery and David McCann.

Scotland: Jane Barr, Ross Creber, Kate Cullen, Jenny Davis, Ross Edgar, Anne Ewing, Andy Fenn, Pippa Handley, Charline Joiner, David Lines, James McCallum, David Millar, Evan Oliphant, John Paul, Chris Pritchard, Eileen Roe, Callum Skinner, Kevin Stewart and Claire Thomas.

Wales: Jessica Allen, Yanto Barker, Kara Chesworth, Nicole Cooke, Paul Esposti, Alex Greenfield, Sam Harrison, Becky James, Rhys Lloyd, Angharad Mason, Lily Matthews, Jon Mould, Lewis Oliva, Hannah Rich and Luke Rowe.

Appleby late addition to Team Wales

Team Raleigh rider Dale Appleby has been added to Wales' road cycling squad for the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi following the withdrawal of Olympic champion Geraint Thomas. 

The 23-year-old from Pontyclun will approach the Commonwealths in confidence having won the Wales national road race earlier this season and finishing 44th in last month's Tour of Britain ahead of Garmin's Cameron Meyer and Cervelo's Roger Hammond. 

This will be Appleby's second appearance at the Commonwealths after riding for Wales in Melbourne in 2006.

Team Sky sell off green kit for charity

British cycling fans have until 1.00pm on Monday afternoon to bid on limited edition kit used by the Team Sky's pro riders, with all money going to help save the Amazonian rainforest.

Team Sky's riders wore a unique black and green kit at the recent Tour of Britain to show their support for Sky Rainforest Rescue, a three-year project that sees Sky working in partnership with the WWF to help save one billion trees in the state of Acre, northwest Brazil.

The items being auctioned include a Pinarello bike (56cm frame) used by triple Olympic champion Bradley Wiggins, a Kask helmet, Oakley sunglasses and specially manufactured race jerseys, all of which cannot be found in the shops.

All money raised through the auction will go directly to save one billion trees in the Amazonian rainforest.  

Sky has pledged to match each £1 raised through Sky Rainforest Rescue and has guaranteed to contribute a total of £2million to help reach the campaign target of £4million.

For more information, visit

London Women's Cycle Racing League celebrates succesful debut year

The inaugural London Women's Cycle Racing League culminated with an awards giving ceremony on Thursday eveniing, hosted by the popular Look Mum No Hands Cafe in Clerkenwell.

Kingston Wheeler Maryka Sennema took the overall prize in the 12-race series, finishing ahead of Elise Sherwell (Pearson Cycles) and Claire Beaumont.

However, Beaumont's Rapha Condor team did take the team prize.

Aiming to expand women's racing, the league more than achieved its goal: 80 women from 18 clubs across the South participated over the year.

"We are really happy with what the league has achieved, it has gone beyond our expectations, especially in its first year," said Maria David of LWCR.

"We would like to thank all the sponsors, the race organisers and the riders who supported this initiative and made it a success."

Hillingdon Slipstreamers win award

Hillingdon Slipstreamers cycle club has received an Active Travel Award from Mayor of London Boris Johnson for it's contribution to health and well-being.

The West London youth cycling club was one of two winners and will receive £1,000 and a film crew for a day as a reward.

Slipstreamers aims to teach under-16-year olds all disciplines of the sport through British Cycling qualified coaches and has seen numbers grow dramatically since forming in 1998.

The club meets every Saturday morning at the circuit in Minet Park, Springfield Road, Hayes from 10am - 12.30 pm and there are also coaching sessions laid on at other venues for track cycling, mountain biking and club runs.

John Mills, British Cycling's Coaching, Education and Development Director said: "Hillingdon Slipstreamers are a great example of Go-Ride club and fully deserve recognition for their hard work and dedication to the sport."

Is cycling the future? debate on Tuesday

The London Transport Museum will hold a debate on Tuesday October 5, examining the role that the bicycle will play in the capital's transport system.

"Panellists will look at whether cycling can open new opportunities to people who never thought they could live without their car. They will be asking if technology and innovations can help cyclists safely integrate with pedestrians and other road users," said Sam Mullins, director of London Transport Museum.

Guest panelists include Gocycle inventor and former F1 engineer Richard Thorpe and London Assembly member Jenny Jones.

BBC London's Robert Elms will host the debate and take questions from the audience.The debate starts at 6.30pm in the Cubic Theatre in London Transport Museum; the nearest underground station is Covent Garden.

For more details, visit

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1