Egan Bernal takes Laureus World Sports Award alongside Lionel Messi and Simone Biles

The Tour de France winner is the first cyclist to win since Lance Armstrong

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Egan Bernal was crowned at the Laureus World Sports Award alongside some of the biggest stars in the world, including Simone Biles, Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi.

The 23-year-old Colombian was given the World Breakthrough of the Year award after winning the 2019 Tour de France, in only his second year of WorldTour racing.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.