Hoy and Pendleton confirmed for British track champs

Chris Hoy wins the Keirin, Track Cycling World Championships 2010

Olympic champions Sir Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton will take part in the British Track National Championships in Manchester from September 21-25.

Sir Chris defends his 2009 national titles in the sprint and Keirin, plus the team sprint, riding against the likes of Jason Kenny, Ross Edgar, Matt Crampton and David Daniell.

"The National Track Championships has always been an important event and this year is certainly no different as it is the curtain raiser to the new track season," said Sir Chris.

"It's a unique event with the best riders in the country taking part and it's often a stepping stone towards qualification for international representation. The racing will be fast and exciting and it should be a fantastic event."

Pendleton will contest the sprint, keirin and time trial and line up alongside Jess Varnish and Becky James.

Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh and Ben Swift have all been confirmed for the endurance disciplines: individual pursuit, scratch and points races. More usually team pursuit team-mates, Wendy Houvenaghel and Joanna Rowsell will race against each other in the women's individual pursuit.

Many riders will be using the national championships to hone their form ahead of the Commonwealth Games in Delhi and European Championships in Poland, the latter being a key event in the steps towards 2012 Olympic Games qualification.

Related links

Wiggins to return to team pursuit at Manchester World Cup in February

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1