Watch Tour Down Under stage four highlights (video)

Rohan Dennis retained the leader's jersey in an eventful stage four of the Tour Down Under, which included a pile up within sight of the finish line

Steele von Hoff took advantage of a huge crash in the final sprint on stage four of the Tour Down Under to cross the line first in a finale that was only contested by seven riders.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The NFTO rider, racing for UniSA, pipped GC hopeful Daryl Impey to the line in Mount Barker after a number of the big-name sprinters were halted by a pile-up within sight of the finish line.

British champion Peter Kennaugh spent part of the day in a four-man breakaway, which included stage one winner Jack Bobridge, who took maximum points on the only King of the Mountains climb to regain his lead in that competition.

Giant-Alpecin sprinter, and winner of Sunday’s People’s Choice Classic, Marcel Kittel was caught out earlier in the stage and rolled in with a group that finished 13 minutes behind the winner.

Tour Down Under 2015, stage four: Glenelg to Mount Barker, 144.5km

1. Steele von Hoff (Aus) UniSA-Australia 3-24-28
2. Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica-GreenEdge
3. Wouter Wippert (Ned) Drapac
4. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) IAM
5. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
6. Niccolò Bonifazio (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7. Rudiger Selig (Ger) Katusha
8. Gianni Meersman (Bel) Etixx-Quick-Step
9. Eugenio Alafaci (Ita) Trek
10. Koen de Kort (Ned) Giant-Alpecin