Laura Trott the toast of Glasgow with omnium victory

Laura Trott, Glasgow Track World Cup 2012, day two, part 2

Laura Trott rounded off her brilliant year by winning the women's omnium on the third and final day of the Glasgow Track World Cup.

Trott, the reigning world and Olympic champion in the discipline, snatched victory away from Australian Ashlee Ankudinoff in the last event. She is now unbeaten in the discipline on her last three outings.

The victory also gave her her third standing ovation inside the new Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in as many days, proving that she is unquestionably one of Britain's most exciting and loved athletes.

She started the day in fourth overall, but jumped to the top of the standings with a narrow victory in the pursuit. However, despite a gallant seventh place in the scratch race, Ankudinoff dislodged her from first place. Trott needed to finish two positions ahead of her in the time trial, and she delivered, finishing second to Ankudinoff's fourth.

With Jason Kenny and Lewis Oliva withdrawing from the men's sprint following crashes in yesterday's keirin, Becky James, Jess Varnish and Philip Hindes were the only other Brits on show on Sunday.

In the women's keirin, James won her qualifying heat, with Varnish's second sending enough to send her through. In her third day of competition in Scotland and fourth event, Varnish failed to progress past the second round. She appeared to be boxed in on the back straight, and decided to sit up. James negotiated a safe passage through to the final, although she too looked tired and had to settle for fifth.

Hindes qualified tenth fastest in the men's sprint in a respectable time of 10.309, however, the 20-year-old failed to make it through the knock-out stage, losing to Czech Pavel Kelemen minutes after crashing in turn one during a subsequently-abandoned heat.

German Robert Forstemann was the only man to post a time under the 10-second mark with a 9.989 in qualifying, but he succumbed to his younger compatriot Steffan Boetticher in the final.


Glasgow Track World Cup, day three

Men's sprint

1. Steffan Boetticher (Ger) beat

2. Robert Forstemann (Ger) 2-1

3. Denis Dmitriev (Rvl) beat

4. Juan Peralta (Esp) 2-1

5. Kevin Sireau (Fra)

6. Pavel Keleman (Cze)

7. Andrew Taylor (Aus)

8. Tomoyuki Kawabata (Jpn)

Women's keirin

1. Kristina Vogel (Ger)

2. Ekaterin Gnidenko (Phl)

3. Wai Sze Lee (Hkg)

4. Olga Panaria (Blr)

5. Becky James (Gbr)

6. Sandie Clair (Fra)

7. Helena Casas (Esp)

8. Elena Brezhniva (Phl)

9. Jess Varnish (Gbr)

10. Tania Calvo Barbero (Esp)

Women's omnium, individual pursuit

1. Laura Trott (Gbr) 3-35.904

Women's omnium, scratch race

1. Tamara Balabolina (Aus)

Women's omnium, 500m time trial

1. Tamara Balabolina (Aus) 35.123

Women's omnium overall standings

1. Laura Trott (Gbr) 24pts

2. Ashlee Ankudinoff (Aus) 24pts

3. Tamara Balabolina (Rus) 26pts

4. Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) 27pts

5. Ausrine Trebaite (Ltu) 30pts

6. Tatsiana Sharakova (Blr) 33pts

7. Leire Olaberria Dorronsoro (Fgn) 42pts

8. Laurie Berthon (FrA) 56pts

9. Sofia Arreola (Mex) 58pts

10. Cari Higgins (USA) 58pts

Related links

Glasgow Track World Cup: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1