Annemiek Van Vleuten completes La Course victory with dominant solo performance on stage two

Van Vleuten comfortably holds off chasers in Marseille

Annemiek Van Vleuten won both stages of La Course,

(Image credit: ASO/Thomas Maheux)

Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica-Scott) took victory on stage two of La Course, comfortably hold off a concerted chase by Lizzie Deignan and Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans), and Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5).

After winning stage one of La Course up the Col d'Izoard, Van Vleuten rolled off the start ramp with a 43-second lead over Lizzie Deignan, and 1-23 over Elisa Longo Borghini, the first woman across the line being declared the overall winner.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1