Mathew Hayman denies Tom Boonen historic win in chaotic Paris-Roubaix

Mathew Hayman pips Tom Boonen on the line to win Paris-Roubaix and deny the Belgian a historic fifth win

Mathew Hayman wins Paris-Roubaix 2016. Photo: Graham Watson

(Image credit: Watson)

Tom Boonen (Etixx-QuickStep) saw his hopes of winning an historic fifth Paris-Roubaix evaporate in the Roubaix velodrome as he was beaten on the line by fellow veteran Mathew Hayman (Orica-GreenEdge).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.