Three in a row: Peter Sagan wins World Championships road race to take his third rainbow jersey

Slovakian rider takes third consecutive men's road race

The men's road race may have been more than 276km long, but Peter Sagan was invisible until the final 300m, when he emerged to edge out Alexander Kristoff for his third-straight World title

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) took an unprecedented third consecutive rainbow jersey as he won the men's road race at the UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway.

The Slovak rode what was close to a perfect race, remaining completely anonymous for the entire race, and only putting himself in the wind for the final hundred metres as he edged past home favourite Alexander Kristoff (Norway).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.