Sam Bennett out-sprints Elia Viviani and Caleb Ewan to claim first victory of season

Irish sprinter wins Towards Zero Race Melbourne

Sam Bennett sprints to victory in the Towards Zero Race Melbourne

(Image credit: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) took his first victory of the season as he sprinted to victory in the Towards Zero Race Melbourne, a prelude circuit race to the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, which takes place on Sunday.

Completing laps of the 5.3km Formula One circuit in the centre of Melbourne, Bennett took victory for the second year in succession, beating a stellar sprinting field in the process.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.