Start times for the Tour de France stage one time trial

Chris Froome will be the 195th rider to start the Tour de France opening time trial, setting off at 17.14 local time

Fabian Cancellara on stage seven of the 2015 Tirreno-Adriatico
(Image credit: Watson)

Movistar have bucked the trend of sending their general classification leader out last on the opening time trial at the Tour de France, with Nairo Quintana heading out early on the 13.8km course.

Alejandro Valverde will be the last rider off for Movistar at 17:12, while Quintana rolls down the ramp two hours earlier at 15:00 local time.

>>> Who the pros think will win the Tour de France time trial

MTN-Qhubeka's Daniel Teklehaimanot will be the first rider on the course, kicking things off at 14:00 (13:00 BST), with the next 197 riders following at one-minute intervals.

Ian Stannard is the first British rider off at 14:18, followed 14 minutes later by Mark Cavendish. Alex Dowsett, one of the favourites for the stage, rolls out at 16:28, with Chris Froome the 195th rider to start at 17:14.

FDJ, like Movistar, have chosen to send their GC contender out in the middle of the day, with Thibaut Pinot setting off 15:47 and Arnaud Démare their last rider off, a minute after Froome.

>>> Who are the bookies backing for stage one of the Tour de France?

As defending champion, Vincenzo Nibali has to wait until last to set off at 17:17 with Alberto Contador the last Tinkoff-Saxo rider down the ramp at 17:13.

Download the full Tour de France TT start list and look out for your favourite riders.

Key start times (all local time, subtract an hour for British time)

14:32 - Mark Cavendish

14:37 - Rohan Dennis

14:38 - Jonathan Castroviejo

14:55 - Simon Yates

15:00 - Nairo Quintana

15:02 - Luke Rowe

15:47 - Thibaut Pinot

16:01 - Adam Yates

16:25 - Tom Dumoulin

16:28 - Alex Dowsett

16:44 - Tony Martin

16:50 - Adriano Malori

16:51 - Peter Sagan

16:52 - Geraint Thomas

17:03 - Fabian Cancellara

17:11 - Tejay van Garderen

17:13 - Alberto Contador

17:14 - Chris Froome

17:17 - Vincenzo Nibali

 Cycling Weekly's experts discuss the opening stage time trial

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.