Nairo Quintana takes overall lead at Tour de Romandie as Chris Froome suffers

Ilnur Zakarin was demoted from stage victory after an irregular sprint ahead Quintana, as the pair duelled it out on the summit finish to Morgins on stage two

(Image credit: Watson)

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) took the overall lead at the Tour de Romandie after stage two, and was awarded the stage victory despite finishing second to defending champion Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha) on the finish to Morgins.

The Colombian looked to be supporting his teammate Ion Izagirre as the bunch rode the final climbs of the day, but made an attack with 6.5km to go from the leading group which no-one was immediately able to follow.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1